Skip to main content

COA Holds 41rst Annual Practical Nursing Pinning

Elizabeth City — Fifteen Practical Nursing students received their nursing pins at College of The Albemarle’s (COA) forty-first annual pinning ceremony on July 26. Held in the Performing Arts Center, the ceremony was a traditional service and included pinning lapel pins, lighting nightingale lamps and taking the Practical Nurse’s Pledge.

Nursing awards were presented by COA Practical Nursing faculty. Practical Nursing graduate Morgan Barnes received the Academic Excellence Award for having the highest overall grade-point average. Deeanna Davenport received the Program Distinction Award for having the highest grade-point average in nursing school. Deeanna Davenport received the Mildred W. Moore Nursing Excellence Award.

Class of 2018

Camden County: Michael Shuman
Currituck County: Deeanna Davenport, Amber Pittman, Chelsea LaBarge
Dare County: Bet Bujiang, Donna Briglia
Gates County: Kathlyn Rountree, Morgan Barnes
Perquimans County: Jhasmine Arellano, Hannah Watson, Kristina Lynch
Pasquotank County: Latisha Overton, Jennifer Simpson
Washington County: Vanessa Nixon, Ebony Webb