Skip to main content

Employee Distinction

default header image

Awards, Grants and Other Recognitions

As part of College of The Albemarle’s (COA) Strategic Plan, the “Distinction” team focuses on helping to achieve a culture of excellence through empowerment of human resources and exemplary stewardship.

“Each division, department and the college will seek recognition or distinction at a state or national level through participation, competition or presentation.”

Distinction Archives


Year Employee Level Organization Recognition/Presentation/Publication
2021 Dr. Joshua Howell National Conference on Higher Education Pedagogy at Virginia Tech “Mindfulness and the Role of Contemplative Pedagogy”
2020 Ryan J. Roberts National Computational Social Science Society of the Americas “Islamic Extremism and the Crystallization of Norms: An ABM of Prison Radicalization”
2020 Caleb Davis National Computability “Combinatorial Principles Equivalent to Weak Induction”
2020 James Byrd National International Journal of Mathematical Education in Science and Technology “Investigating the Circumregion”
2020 Lucretia White National National Organization for Student Success (NOSS) Recognized with members of the NC Organization for Student Success in the NOSS monthly newsletter (April 2020)
2020 Dr. Joshua Howell District Old Dominion University Scholarship Award Recipient; Doctorate; Dissertation: “Transformational Leadership Qualities Among Students Within Doctoral Higher Education Leadership Programs”
2020 Ryan Roberts District Old Dominion University Distinguished Research Paper in International Studies
2020 Nora Hartlaub National College Art Association of America Annual Conference “Rural Revolution and the OBX Art Truck”
2019 – 2020 Sharon Brown State Clinical Outcome Assessments for Acute Pain Therapeutics in Infants and Young Children Advisory Committee
2018 – 2020 Sharon Brown State Governor’s Appointed NC Council on Sickle Cell Disease and Related Blood Disorders Board Member
2020 Dr. Felix Buabeng National U.S. Agency of International Development (USAID) Farmer-to-Farmer Program Volunteer
2019 Michael Whitehurst State University of South Alabama Master of Science in Nursing – Adult Nurse Practitioner
2019 Kanika Bryant State North Carolina Conference of English Instructors “Generation Z: Gamification and Trending Topics in the Higher Ed Classroom”
2019 Sylvie Shapero and
Kanika Bryant
State North Carolina Conference of English Instructors “Addressing Race and Culture in the Classroom”
2019 Jill Lettieri State North Carolina Conference of English Instructors “From Syria to Serial Killers: News Literacy and Critical Thinking”
2019 Walter Meads National National Registry Paramedic Certification
2019 John Wilson National National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians 20 Years of National EMS Certification
2019 Lucretia White State North Carolina Organization for Student Success President
2019 Leah Jones State North Carolina Organization for Student Success “Motivating Opening and Closing Activities”
2019 Ryan Roberts
(co-author, Dr. Jesse Richman)
National Legislative Studies Quarterly “When Do Low Roll Rates Indicate Party Influence? Evidence from Counterfactual Roll Rates”
2019 Caleb Davis National Archive for Mathematical Logic “Reverse Mathematics and Colorings of Hypergraphs”
2019 Dr. Dean Roughton National American Association of Community Colleges “Global to Local: Internationalization Opportunities and Challenges”
2019 Charles Byrne National American Council on Exercise Personal Trainer Recertification
2019 Sylvie Shapero National Global Status of Women and Girls “Can a White Teacher Empower Black Students?”
2019 Christina Weisner State Gregg Museum of Art and Design “Explorations — Science Sculptures”
2019 Laura Morrison National Conference on Higher Education Pedagogy “Teachers as Boy Scouts: Preparing with the Power of Pre-suasion”
2019 Kanika Bryant National Conference on Higher Education Pedagogy “Engaging Students Using Instructional Strategies”
Year Employee Level Organization Recognition
2020 Dr. Dean Roughton National The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education “Dual Enrollment”
2020 – 2022 Dr. Susan Peck State North Carolina Community College Association of Distance Learning Eastern Region Vice President
2020 Eushekia Hewitt State North Carolina State University Transfer Advisory Board Board Member
2019 Rodney Wooten State State Library of North Carolina Library Services and Technology Grant
2019 Katie Cross State North Carolina Community College System Chief Student Development Administrators Leadership Academy
2019 Sherri May State North Carolina Community College Adult Education Association Joy Callahan Lead the Way Grant
2019 Human Resources Staff State North Carolina Department of Labor Gold Safety Award
2019 Wanda Fletcher Local Northeastern Workforce Development Board Youth Committee NextGen Chair
2019 Wanda Fletcher State Northeastern Workforce Development Board Leadership Committee Board Member
2018 – 2019 Wanda Fletcher State North Carolina Community College System College and Career Readiness State Professional Development Committee/
Co-Chair 225 Funding
Year Employee Award
2020 Randolph Harris Professional Staff Person of the Year
2020 Johnny McPherson Institutional Staff Person of the Year
2020 Margie Holley Para-Professional Staff Person of the Year
2020 Leslie Lippincott Teacher of the Year
2020 Bradley Boswell Excellence in Teaching Award
2020 Olivia Buzzacco Excellence in Teaching Award

Submit a Recent Accomplishment or Recognition Opportunity



COA Employee Awards