Skip to main content

COA Recognizes Basic Law Enforcement Training StudentsCongratulations Fall 2023 and Spring 2024 BLET Students

COA BLET Classes for Fall 2023 and Spring 2024 Complete Program

College of The Albemarle (COA) recently celebrated 33 Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) students for program completion: 15 from the Fall 2023 program and 18 from Spring 2024. The ceremony included remarks from COA President Dr. Jack Bagwell, COA Dean of Workforce Development, Public Services and Career Readiness Robin Zinsmeister, COA BLET Director John Etheridge, and the 2023 and 2024 class presidents Corey Morris and Mauricio Ordonez, respectively. The featured speaker for the event was Michelle Schilling, North Carolina Department of Justice Deputy Director, Criminal Justice Standards Division.

During the 16-week training, the students completed over 650 contact hours, covering 36 blocks of instruction and multiple practical exams. The training included firearms, driving, traffic crashes, patrol techniques, domestic violence, criminal investigation, CPR/first responders, rapid deployment, explosive/hazardous materials emergencies, and subject control arrest techniques. Students also successfully completed the Police Officer Physical Abilities Test (POPAT).

Director Etheridge shared, “I want to take this opportunity to congratulate the BLET Fall 2023 and Spring 2024 Classes on a job well done. I am so proud of the hard work the cadets in both classes endured. I have a good feeling about the future of these two graduating classes. The staff and instructors of the BLET program are committed to our cadets and producing the best of the best for our region.”

Fall 2023 Students: 

  • Alexander Burton, Pasquotank County
  • Carlos Cardenas, Pasquotank County
  • Michelle Dehart, Dare County
  • Cody Douglas, Pasquotank County
  • DeAngelo Freemonweldy, Pasquotank County
  • Kelly McDonald, Camden County
  • Abigail Midgette, Pasquotank County
  • Corey Morris, Currituck County
  • David Poole, Currituck County
  • Alexander Prodigalidad, Gates County
  • Sai¢Veon Skinner, Perquimans County
  • Bailey Strong, Perquimans County
  • Preston Thompkins, Chowan County
  • Endiana Williams, Pasquotank County
  • Jamie Williams, Tyrrell County

Spring 2024 Students:

  • Fernando Angel-Ramirez, Dare County
  • Connor Annen, Currituck County
  • Forrest Creech, Dare County
  • Steven Fisher, Dare County
  • Jon Gump, Dare County
  • Ivan Howard, Dare County
  • Rodney James, Pasquotank County
  • Brian Lasik, Dare County
  • Macullah Lester, Dare County
  • Benjamin McSparren, Dare County
  • Tucker Melton, Currituck County
  • Mauricio Ordonez, Dare County
  • Karla Ortiz Figueroa, Pasquotank County
  • Anthony Rippons Jr., Tyrrell County
  • Anthony Rippons, III, Tyrrell County
  • Joshua Russell, Perquimans County
  • Charlotte Stevens, Washington County
  • Thomas Tripp Jr., Camden County

Special awards are presented during the ceremony to recognize outstanding training and academic performance. The “Top Gun” award was given to the student who demonstrated the highest proficiency during firearms training. The “Iron Man” award was presented to the student who performed best in the physical training assessments.  The “Driver Supreme” award was presented to the student with the best overall driving course score. The “Academic Honors” award was given to the student with the highest grade, based on a percentage of the class. The “Law Enforcement Excellence” award was presented to the student whom BLET staff determined had the best overall performance in the class.

Fall 2023 Class Awards:

  • “Academic Honors” and “Driver Supreme” – Kelly McDonald
  • “Iron Man”- Carlos Cardenas
  • “Law Enforcement Excellence” – David Poole
  • “Top Gun” – Alexander Prodigalidad

Spring 2024 Class Awards:

  • “Academic Honors” – Forest Creech and Anthony Rippons, III
  • “Driver Supreme” – Connor Annen
  • “Iron Man” – Rodney James
  • “Law Enforcement Excellence” – Karla Ortiz Figueroa and Charlotte Stevens
  • “Top Gun” – Anthony Rippons, Jr.

COA BLET Classes for Fall 2023 and Spring 2024 Complete Program

Photo (front row, l-r): Edward Woods, Drew Weston, DeAngela Freemonweldy, Kelly McDonald, Abigail Midgette, Corey Morris, David Poole, Alexander Prodigalidad, Sai¢Veon Skinner, Preston Thompkins, Michael Palkovics, Thomas Tripp

(back row, l-r): Fernando Angel-Ramirez, Connor Annen, Forrest Creech, Steven Fisher, Jon Gump, Ivan Howard, Rodney James, Brian Lasik, Macullah Lester, Benjamin McSparren, Tucker Melton, Mauricio Ordonez, Karla Ortiz Figueroa, Anthony Rippons, Jr., Anthony Rippons, III, Joshua Russell, Charlotte Stevens, Heather Bradley

(not pictured): Michelle Dehart, Cody Douglas, Bailey Strong, Endiana Williams, and Jamie Williams