Skip to main content

College of The Albemarle Holds Coining Ceremony for Paramedic Graduates

College of The Albemarle (COA) held a coining ceremony for the Emergency Medical Science Class of 2024 on Thursday, May 9th, at 5:00 p.m.  Presentation of challenge coins, similar to pins presented for other medical programs, provides the opportunity to recognize students for excellence. The students participating in the coining ceremony graduated from COA on Wednesday, May 8, 2024.

Congratulations to the EMS Class of 2024, Daniella Gaughan, Camden County; Troy Crawford, Currituck County; and Paige Scheidler, Perquimans County (pictured l-r in the photo).

“I am very proud of these graduates who have earned their degree and their paramedic credential and wish them much success in their service to our communities,” said Walter Meads, EMS Program Coordinator. “College of The Albemarle offers many emergency services-related programs, including Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT), and Paramedic.  We also offer an associate degree program and an associate degree bridge program for anyone who wants to earn a two-year degree and has completed the paramedic program. College of The Albemarle is a regional continuing education location for Emergency Medical Service (EMS) providers in our service area and throughout North Carolina.”

Students completing COA – Dare’s Paramedic Academy will be recognized during a graduation and coining ceremony on Thursday, May 23, 2024, at 4:00 p.m. at COA – Dare, 205 Highway 64 S., Manteo.

For more information about the EMS programs, contact Walter Meads, COA Assistant Professor/Program Coordinator, Emergency Medical Science, at 252-335-0821 ext. 2519 or [email protected].

For all other COA-related information or media inquiries, contact Tammy W. Sawyer, Director of Communications and Marketing, at 252.335.0821 ext. 2420 or [email protected].