Skip to main content

Phi Theta Kappa Chapter at College of The Albemarle Celebrates 2023-2024 Accomplishments

Elizabeth City, N.C. – Members of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society at College of The Albemarle (COA) once again demonstrated their commitment to excellence and service at the recent Carolinas Region Awards Ceremony held in Lexington, N.C. The Nu Nu Chapter proudly accepted four prestigious awards and a scholarship, showcasing their dedication to academic achievement and community engagement.

The chapter’s outstanding accomplishments were recognized with the following awards:

  • Five Star Chapter: Acknowledging the Nu Nu Chapter’s exceptional performance and dedication to PTK’s mission.
  • Outstanding Participation in Carolinas Region Service Project: Highlighting the chapter’s exemplary involvement in the regional service initiative.
  • Carolinas Region Five Star Advisor: Recognizing the chapter advisor’s exceptional guidance and leadership.
  • Certificate of Excellence in Five-Star Competitive Edge: Celebrating a chapter member’s commitment to developing scholarly and leadership skills.


Gabrielle Spence (right), PTK Chapter President, with Leah Jones (center), COA Associate Professor of Academic Foundations, English, and Dr. Evonne Carter (left), COA Vice President of Learning. Spence was the first recipient of the Evonne Carter Champion of Excellence Award.


Chapter President Gabrielle Spence was honored with a Certificate of Excellence in Five-Star Competitive Edge and received a prestigious scholarship from High Point University. Gabrielle’s leadership and dedication have been instrumental in the chapter’s success, including submitting the grant application for the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Honors in Action Grant.

In addition to its regional achievements, the Nu Nu Chapter has been awarded the Phi Theta Kappa and Mellon Foundation Fall 2023 Honors in Action Grant, totaling $105. This grant will support the chapter’s engagement with Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors in Action program and its project, “Preserving Stories.”

The Honors in Action Project aims to preserve the stories and voices of College of The Albemarle graduates. It explores factors influencing the preservation of community college graduate stories. Through academic research and community action, the chapter will identify methods to preserve these valuable narratives and share them with the broader community.

Using the grant funds, the Nu Nu Chapter plans to interview COA graduates, transcribe the audio recordings, and collaborate with local historians and college alums to develop a method of preserving these stories. The project aligns with Phi Theta Kappa’s mission of recognizing academic achievement and fostering leadership and scholarship among community college students.

“We are thrilled to receive the Honors in Action Grant and grateful for the opportunity to preserve the rich stories of COA graduates,” said Leah Jones, COA Associate Professor of Academic Foundations, English, and Nu Nu Chapter Advisor. “This project not only honors the achievements of our alumni but also strengthens our connection to the community and the legacy of College of The Albemarle.”


The Nu Nu Chapter looks forward to sharing the outcomes of their Honors in Action Project with the community and continuing their tradition of academic excellence and service.

An induction ceremony was also held on April 17, 2024, for all new members. During the ceremony, the Nu Nu Chapter introduced a new recognition, The Evonne Carter Champion of Excellence Award. Named in honor of COA Vice-President of Learning, Dr. Evonne Carter, this award acknowledges outstanding leadership, promotion of Phi Theta Kappa ideals, and engagement in the Society. Gabrielle Spence is the first recipient of this prestigious award in recognition of her exemplary contributions to the Nu Nu Chapter.

The new members of the Nu Nu Chapter in attendance included Kamryn Adams, Addi Britt, Sinai Brockett, Elisa Grace Brown, Emmanuel Brown, Gracey Capps, Karina Diaz, Kennedy Hoskins, Joshua Hughes, Erika Liverman, Ninette Vasquez Lopez, Andrew Ly, Aimee Marsh, Crystal McClenney, Kaylee Nagel, Shannon Peternel, Whitney Reeser-Harris, Martha W Remme, Grace Rusk, Nicholas Santiago, Isabella Sanford, Erica Sawyer, Jashon Sawyer, Alethia Spence, Artem Treistman, River Waters, Ava Waugaman, and Sean Whidbee. The Chapter inducted a total of 147 members last year.


For information or media inquiries, contact Tammy W. Sawyer, COA Director of Communications and Marketing, at [email protected] or 252-335-0821, ext. 2420.