Skip to main content

COA Holds 17th Surgical Technology Pinning Ceremony

Elizabeth City — College of The Albemarle (COA) honored five graduates at the 17th annual Surgical Technology Pinning Ceremony on Dec. 12, 2019. The Surgical Technology program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education programs upon the recommendation of Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting.

See Ceremony Photos

Graduates received their pins in front of family and friends, COA faculty and staff members. Dr. Evonne Carter, Vice President of Learning, welcomed guests to the Surgical Technology pinning ceremony.

Shylee Barnes, President of the Class of 2019, offered greetings to guests on behalf of the graduates. Anna Steadman received the Academic Excellence award, recognizing the student with a 3.5 grade-point average or higher. Upon receiving their pins, the graduates recited “The Pledge of the Surgical Technologist.”

Graduates of the program are eligible to apply to take the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting’s (NBSTSA) certificate examination for surgical technologists. Employment opportunities include working in labor, delivery and emergency departments; inpatient and outpatient surgery centers; dialysis units and resources; physicians’ offices; and central supply processing units.

Graduates: Anna Steadman (Dare), Shylee Barnes (Camden), Tiffani Callaway (Camden); Jennifer Collins (Pasquotank) and Sarah Rogan (Pasquotank)