Skip to main content

Staff Council

The Staff Council supports the mission of College of The Albemarle (COA): To transform lives in an accessible, supportive environment that promotes academic excellence, student success, workforce development, community partnerships and responsible stewardship. The Staff Council also upholds the college’s core values of community, integrity, respect, diversity and teamwork.

Staff Council Representatives

If you have questions or concerns in a particular area, the representative listed below will be glad to assist you.

Representative Title Area
Rena Jackson
252-335-0821 ext. 2460
rena_jackson@albemarle.edu
President TBA
Michelle Portoukalian
252-473-2264 ext. 7033
michelle_portoukal09@albemarle.edu
Vice President Communications
Annette Roberson
252-335-0821 ext. 2221
annette_roberson@albemarle.edu
Secretary TBA
William DeFeo
252-335-0821 ext. 2245
william_defeo@albemarle.edu
Treasurer Morale and Recognition
Shirley Blount
252-482-7900 ext. 6011
shirley_blount@albemarle.edu
Representative Salaries
Bruce Boyd
252-384-7730
bruce_boyd@albemarle.edu
Representative Safety and Security
Sherri May
252-473-2264 ext. 7511
sherri_may@albemarle.edu
Representative Safety and Security
Luther Whedbee
252-335-0821 ext. 2276
luther_whedbee@albemarle.edu
Representative Community
Chris Masiello
252-335-0821 ext. 8110
chris_masiello70@albemarle.edu
Representative Community

“Standing Ovation”

Submit the employee(s) you wish to receive a Standing Ovation from the Staff Council. Nominees demonstrate going above or beyond or doing an exceptional job. Recipients will be announced through a monthly email.

Nominate Employee(s)

Nominations are due every month by the 15th. Recipients will be announced on the last working day of the month.